The best keyboard ever…

…for me, of course. You might have a different opinion, but hey, it’s my blog, right? 🙂

A lot of people hate Microsoft, and they might have their own reasons for doing so. Personally, though, while not being a fan of Bill Gates, I must admit that they created the best keyboard and mouse I’ve ever touched in my life. The model’s name is Wireless Natural Multimedia Keyboard.

Yes, it is the wavy, divided keyboard with strangely positioned home, delete and page keys that so many people hate. Which is both a sad, and a good thing. Good, because when I need one, I can usually buy it for like 1/3rd or 1/4th of the price from a disappointed user, and sad, because I think it’s no longer produced.

And yet – it has the best touch and response from all the keyboards I have used, the battery life is simply amazing, as is the range, especially in comparison to Logitech sh*t that I used to have for a brief period of time. Its ergonomics is wonderful. Since I use 8-10 fingers while typing, and don’t look at the keyboard at all, I appreciate it a lot. It is neither too soft, nor too hard, all the keys are in the right place, and the right size for my hands. No other model that I have tried in various places, markets and shops even comes close.

The mouse is similar – IntelliMouse Explorer 2.0 fits my hand perfectly, has great range and battery life (like 5 times that of Logitech, give me a break!). Interestingly, Laser Mouse 6000 that I also have and use, is not as good.

Funny anecdote – I tried to give Logitech mouse to my 15 months-old daughter, but she also prefers Microsoft 🙂 As you can see, there is no love for this company at my place.

And my Mac-loving friends, don’t even get me started on Apple mouse and keyboard. I have to use them at work, and it is a pain in every way imaginable. I can’t believe that such unergonomic, poor design was hailed as something great. Congratulations to the marketing team, condolences to the users.

Rant mode off, though. I really love MS Natural Keyboard. I have two of those, and I would not exchange them for anything else.

About Bart Walczak

I'm a video editor, and an aspiring colorist and VFX artist, with some experience in desktop publishing, web development and programming.
This entry was posted in usability and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

