My Visual FX showreel

After a long time I finally managed to put up a showreel of some of my visual FX works and also of my experimentation with Nuke and Fusion. Interestingly, Nuke looks more powerful, but for some reason the interface of Fusion has more appeal to me, perhaps because of the fact that there is some color coding used for inputs instead of letters, or because of other things. However I do like a few features in Nuke like keyboard shortcuts for nodes.

I also grew to appreciate the node-based software during creation of this reel, because to render various passes in After Effects I had to do it separately or create separate sequences to render, and it had to recalculate the whole thing each time, while in Fusion I just put write nodes in the flow, and a single pass was enough. I must admit I rather liked this kind of workflow. Pre-composing in AE was always something that annoyed me a lot, I’d much prefer it to be organized like layer folders in Photoshop, although I do realize that comps are more like Smart-Objects in terms that they can be reused in various places.

Anyway, I guess node-based workflow is something that takes time to get used to, but is indeed pretty powerful.

What I also like about Nuke is that there is a good tutorial on Lynda.com, and the site is cheap enough for me to be able to afford watching it. I’d love to be able to shell out money for FXPHD, but I’m not there yet.

Without further ado, here’s the reel:

 

Thanks to Hollywood Camera Work and Red for kindly providing free footage to play with.

About Bart Walczak

I'm a video editor, and an aspiring colorist and VFX artist, with some experience in desktop publishing, web development and programming.
This entry was posted in video editing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

